First Thought, best thought

collage 1

Working in a very green garden, I created the paper collage first to develop the composition. I looked for poetry, rhythm and color in the landscape. The collage process is quick and direct; while the painting process is refined and nuanced. The oil painting required several iterations on site and in the studio to build the value and color relationships and recreate the rhythm of the garden. One seems more successful than the other.
Allen Ginsberg offers 9 Points:
1. First thought, best thought
2. Observe what’s vivid
3. Notice what you notice
4. Catch yourself thinking
5. Ordinary mind includes external perceptions
6. Vividness is self-selecting
7. Subject is known by what she sees
8. Others can measure their vision by what we see
9. Candor ends paranoia

5 comments on “First Thought, best thought

  1. I love the red tree and the pink at the bottom. I’m working with a variety of greens also and find it quite rewarding after shying away from green my whole life because my teacher, my mentor told me green was the hardest color with which to paint. (I don’t think so) Ok first thought, best thought. Perhaps you are not asking but in case you are, in my humble opinion – just me- the torn white in the collage adds a bit of aliveness, a shot in the arm, to the composition. I do believe each medium has it’s own qualities. Each piece is a separate statement or feeling and successful. I think your idea is a really good one.

  2. poppy2013 says:

    I agree about the collage. Everything about it comes alive. I want my paintings to have similar qualities. How to make it happen? I have several ideas.

  3. Larry Dully says:

    Very nice!

  4. That is one of the biggest reasons why I paint. Painting is a challenge for me.,When I finish a painting, the painting always leaves another question for me to try to figure out.

  5. poppy2013 says:

    Yes, painting is a challenge, but not boring. Sometimes it comes together so smoothly, other times it is a trial and error process. I will keep you posted as I explore how to get from collage to paint. I am enjoying your marvelous photos of the America’s Cup.

Leave a comment